Hello!

Coop Les Racines de l’Île is a new small-scale farm in L’Île-Bizard, Montreal (Tiohtià:ke*)

Our objective: To grow vegetables from a biointensive and regenerative agriculture that uses no herbicides, no GMOs and no chemical pesticides, and provide fresh produce to local communities – starting with you!

Following the proven Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) model, we offer subscriptions to receive a basket of vegetables from our farm, every week. Three options :

Our current delivery locations :

  • Éco-quartier Pierrefonds-Roxboro – 13 Rue Centre Commercial, Roxboro – Wednesdays, 16:00 to 19:00.
    Includes an exchange basket to swap a vegetable for another.
  • Veux-tu une bière? – 1451 Rue Saint-Zotique Est, Montréal – Thursdays, 17:00 to 21:00
  • Chez Maryse et Pierre (Ville-Émard)6910 rue Jogues, Montréal – Thursdays, 16:00 to 19:00
  • Centre ambulatoire de Laval (employé-e-s seulement) – 1515, Boulevard Chomedey, Laval – Thursdays, 15:30 to 17:30
  • It’s also possible to retrieve your basket directly at the farm, 1530 Chemin du Bord-du-Lac, l’Île-Bizard

 

Ectastic ?

Leave us your contact info for the next season (2017)

We’ll contact you as soon as subscriptions will be open

For a better idea of what we offer, see our 2016 summer baskets and our weekly info updates

About us

A group of friends with a passion for growing food, the environment, self-sufficiency and popular education, we rent a two-acre plot at Ferme incubateur Bord-du-Lac, which allows us to launch confidently while receiving a precious support.

With our different backgrounds, we now commit to a regenerative agriculture that restores the soil as a place for life to thrive naturally, all the while reducing the need for fertilizers and water. To accomplish that, we grow nutritious and delicious root and leaf vegetables, among many others, but we choose not to grow “heavy feeders” such as tomatoes, cucumbers and their like. We build a workers cooperative to cultivate societies, feed communities and regenerate agriculture.

More than an seller-buyer relationship, a partnership

By buying our production in advance, you help us cover the expenses required for that production, a lot of which happen at the very beginning of the season. It’s an amazing helping hand, as no farmer is shielded from nature’s unforeseeable changes of mood. In other words, you share with us the risk of a lesser harvest and the boons of an abundant one. We guarantee that you’ll always get your fair share of vegetables, while supporting the emergence of an ecological and innovative approach to farming.

 

* Tiohtià:ke is the name given to what we refer to as “Montreal” by Kanien’kéha:ka (“Mohawks”) who have been occupying the territory long before settlers came, and have never ceded or surrendered it.

Bien le bonjour!

La Coop Les Racines de l’Île est une jeune ferme maraîchère située à L’Île-Bizard, à deux pas de Montréal (Tiohtià:ke*)

Notre but : faire pousser des aliments issus d’une agriculture bio-intensive et régénérative, sans herbicides, sans OGM ni pesticides chimiques, et fournir en aliments frais les communautés locales – à commencer par vous!

Sur le modèle de l’agriculture soutenue par la communauté (ASC), nous proposons des abonnements payables à l’avance pour recevoir un panier de légumes variés provenant de notre ferme, hebdomadairement ou bihebdomadairement.

Cette saison-ci, nous livrons aux endroits suivants :

 

Enthousiaste ?

Laissez-nous vos coordonnées pour la prochaine saison (été 2017)

Nous vous contacterons dès l’ouverture des abonnements.

Voyez le descriptif de nos paniers d’été 2016 et nos infolettres hebdomadaires

À propos de nous

Un groupe d’ami-e-s passionné-e-s par la culture des aliments, l’environnement, l’autosuffisance et l’éducation populaire, nous louons une parcelle de deux acres à la Ferme incubateur Bord-du-Lac, ce qui nous permet de nous lancer en bénéficiant d’un précieux accompagnement.

Fort-e-s de nos expériences respectives, nous faisons maintenant le pari d’une agriculture régénérative pour restaurer la vie et la fertilité naturelle du sol, tout en minimisant les intrants. Pour y arriver, nous misons sur les caloriques et délicieux légumes racines et légumes feuilles, notamment, mais renonçons aux cultures exigeantes pour le sol que sont les tomates, les concombres et leurs semblables. Nous fondons une coopérative de travailleuses et de travailleurs pour cultiver des sociétés, nourrir des communautés et régénérer l’agriculture.

Plus qu’une relation producteur-client, un partenariat

En achetant notre production à l’avance, vous nous aidez à assumer les dépenses nécessaires à cette production et qui surviennent pour beaucoup en début de saison. Il s’agît d’un coup de pouce inestimable puisque nous nommes, comme tout producteur agricole, vulnérable aux aléas de la nature. Vous partagez avec nous les risques d’une récolte moindre, mais aussi les fruits (légumiers) d’une récolte abondante. Nous vous garantissons que vous obtiendrez votre juste part de légumes, tout en soutenant l’essor d’une agriculture écologique et innovante.

 

* Tiohtià:ke est le nom donné à ce que l’on appelle Montréal, par les Kanien’kéha:ka (« Mohawks ») qui occupaient le territoire avant l’arrivée des colonisateurs-trices et ne l’ont d’ailleurs jamais cédé